Inspiration – Tupac Resurrection

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The research and development of ideas and inspiration continues as I plough through looking for media content which will aid me in building a better understanding of what I want to achieve for my documentary. This is through books, music, films, documentaries and so fourth.

I have always had a deep love and passion for music. Music from all countries and genres. This may be due to the fact my father was a DJ in the late 80’s and 90’s along with my brother and sister. My older brother also used to rap and my sister Racheal sang in the church choir. I learnt to appreciate the real fine art of music, so as I grew my interest did also.

Tupac Shakur was born on the 16th of June, 1971 in east Harlem, America. In his early career he began as a small time actor, and branched into rapping and even years after his death he is recognised around the world as one of the greatest rappers of all time. This is hugely impressive considering he died at the tender age of 25. This documentary goes into extensive detail about his life struggles, how he was fatally murdered and the conspiracies surrounding his death.

This documentary has huge similarities to the media text I will aim to create. In terms of subject matter, crime and brutality, law and order, and the death of a young black male. Also the death of the late Afolabi Oyodele and the rap legend were only two years apart.

Key points from the documentary:

  • The voice over from the now deceased rapper was very effective, because it was him literally telling his own story even after he had died.
  • A lot of powerful cutaways of important monuments which hold value.
  • The doc was very informative and harboured articles which made it more factual and shows the scale it is on.
  • One thing I loved was how they took a couple clips from ‘Different Strokes’ a sitcom from the 80’s and use it to sum a section of the documentary. It gave the text more context and showed us what was being shown at that point in time.
  • Headers of the different states, names, times, and dates worked really.
  • The keen and prompt to help create emotion was really effective but at some times forced.
  • The amount of archive footage gathered for this piece was immense. The real skill was how they had different images merging and moving into one another to tell the narrative.
  • All the different subjects and talking points linked cohesively together knitting one long story together. This is something we are going to have to focus on.

These are the main key points I have taken from this informative doc. I really enjoyed watching this media text, I feel like I have learnt so much. Clearly this documentary is on a bigger scale then our proposed media text due to the famous subject and the money pumped into it, but I feel we can match and better the text in some aspects like the use of music, and repetition of certain images. Our text will also be much more concise and direct in comparison to the ‘Resurrection’ which was longer than I think it needed to be.

Leave a Reply

