The first draft of the script

Here is the first ever draft of ‘A bit about Frank’ it has changed so much since this edition, and I know it will change a lot more. There is so much room for improvement, but this will give you an idea of where I started when I originally wrote this script months ago.

A BIT ABOUT FRANK

EXT. OUTSIDE A CORNER SHOP. AFTERNOON.

In the heart of east London in the summer of 2004 Billy and Daniel, aged 9 and 10 are near their local corner shop. Just prior to this the pair had been running around for a few hours causing mischief in their local park, the lads are parched but only have a 20p between them, they walk towards a shop.

Billy

(looks over to Daniel)

…You know what?

Daniel

what?

BILLY

(Puts his arm around Daniel)

I’m really, really thirsty

DANIEL

(Shrugs him off)

well You know I don’t have no money, because you always ‘borrow’ my money and never give it back

BILLY

(Stops)

Well That’s not true.

DANIEL

(Stares and looks at him, slanting his head)
BILLY

(Smirks. Then raises his hand in an exaggerated fashion to demonstrate bubbles flying away)

…Well like the famous bubbles that’s gone and flown away.

DANIEL

(laughs, and begins to walk off)

I’m going home.

BILLY

(Quickly runs up besides him, links his arms closes his eyes and starts singing)

‘I’m forever blowing bubbles, pretty bubbles in the air.

DANIEL

(looks at him, as Billy’s eyes are closed)
BILLY

(Nudges him, and they both start singing)

‘They fly so high, nearly reach the sky, and then like my dreams they fade and die’

(They both stop burst out laughing pushing eachother)

BILLY

(whispers into Daniel’s ears)

I’ve got a plan.

INT. corner shop. afternoon.

Daniel sneaks into the shop behind Billy. Billy then heads over to the counter to distract the shop keeper. While Daniel steals some snacks.

BILLY

(Charmingly approaches the counter)

Hi Mr sir.

Shopkeeper

(Looks at him suspiciously)

Hi Billy

BILLY
Can I have 5 boxes of fags, some whisky, rizzla, and what ever tickles your fancy

SHOPKEEPER

I beg your pardon

BILLY

(Grins in the shopkeepers face)

Don’t beg, just get what i asked for please. On the double.
SHOPKEEPER

(Looking at the reflection to work out, what Daniel is doing behind the shelves)

How about you come back in ten years time, and then I’ll be able to give you everything you asked for. (mutters under his breath) Cheeky sod.

BILLY

(Backs away from the counter towards the door, as the shop keeper looks suspiciously at Billy and the mirror)

Well how about you close your eyes and open them in 10 seconds. Danny!

SHOPKEEPER

(shouts, then runs from behind his)

what? Come back here! Come back now! Nincompoops

DANIEL

(Runs for the door as he drops a packet of crips)

Sorry!

BILLY

(Holds the dooe for Daniel)

C’mon lets go

The boys run around the corner and get as far from the shop as possible before they stop to catch their breath.

BILLY

(Looking at the snacks)

I told you it would work

DANIEL

(Still out of breath)

were gonna get in trouble, I’m never doing this again.

BILLY

(Grins)

That’s what you said the last time

DANIEL

(Snatches the big bag of sweets out of Billy’s hands and walks off)
BILLY

(shouts, as they walk off into the sunset)

oi!

EXT.near the flats. afternoon.

In the heart of East London in the summer of 2014 Billy and Daniel are walking along the street towards the flats where Billy resides.

DANIEL

…So what we doing today? I’m only here for a little while…

BILLY

..I know your gonna run off back to Loughborough(in a posh accent,bowing gesture)

DANIEL

(Put’s head down)

Don’t be like that

BILLY

Like what? (Puts his hands to gesture he’s doing nothing wrong)

DANIEL

You know… Jealous

BILLY

(puts his arm around Daniel and points forward in Irish accent)

Shagg off! Like my famous Irish ancesters used to say nothing good comes out of jealously my little dear boy

DANIEL

(Laughs, and pushes him off)

Your not even Irish

BILLY

Says who? Anyway you gonna wait at mine while I go drop something to cousin?

DANIEL

(screws his face, then angrily says)

What cousins? Every time you claim to see your cousins something bad always happens.

Two girls from the area are approaching Billy and Daniel, they begin to get excited as they realize its Billy in the distance.

Shanice

…My dress just came, I’m too excited Saturday is gonna be a shutdown (CURRENT EVENT)

TAYLOR

(Over the top excited)

I know you should see my heels and my clutch bag.

Billy and Daniels conversation continues

BILLY

Mate chill out, whats happened to you? those uni girls having really been fucking with your emotions, sounds like your gonna break out into a fucking ballad mate.

DANIEL

Well, just be careful..These so called cousins have got us almost killed many a time, if we were cats we would probably be on our our last flippin’ life (Giggles)

SHANICE and TAYLOR are getting closer to the boys

TAYLOR

…and you know things gonna be there (Looking at Shanice waiting for a reaction smiling in her face)

SHANICE

(Blushes and embarrassed as she looks away)

who’s thing?

TAYLOR

(excited)

Look! I swear that’s Billy?

SHANICE

(Excited fixing her hair)

Oh my gosh it is, how’s my hair?

TAYLOR

It’s fine how’s mine? look there coming, he’s coming composure…composure.
BILLY and DANIEL eventual reach the girls

DANIEL

You better be back soon, I swear that’s T and SHANICE from my college

BILLY

Yeah be quiet! Hi ladies

TAYLOR

(Moves forward to hug Billy, and holds on too long)

Hi Billy!

SHANICE

(Looks at TAYLOR sideways)

Ok…You can let go now. Hi Billy, Daniel.

DANIEL

Hi girls

TAYLOR

(Without a care in the world)

hey

BILLY

(Calmly)

So what you guys doing round here? I swear u live in forest gate?

TAYLOR

(eagerly)

Were going back to Shans!

SHANICE

I moved, I live just up the road

TAYLOR

(flirtatious)

Yeah you should come round

SHANICE

(Gives Taylor a dirty look, but smiles at Billy)

TAYLOR! but yeah you should come round I’ve got a free yard

BILLY

(Answers with swagger)

Yeah I’ll see if i’m not busy we’ll probably come round

TAYLOR

(coughs)

We? Ok… Call me

SHANICE

(Giggles)
DANIEL

(screws his face)
Billy is stood turned facing the girls as they are walking away, while Daniel starts to walk off, they girls mutter as they walk off.

TAYLOR

(Excited and giggling)

Is he still looking

SHANICE

(Gives her a dirty look)

Yeah, I cant believe you were acting like that

TAYLOR

like what?

SHANICE

Desperate!

TAYLOR

Your just jealous just because thingy never wants to link you

The pair begin to argue jokingly into the distance as THE BOYS almost approach Billy’s house. Daniel is not happy.

BILLY

Ahh.. So your gonna be silent all the way home?

DANIEL

(remains silent, and continues walking)
BILLY

Whats wrong? Is it T and Shan?

DANIEL

(remains quiet)
BILLY

You no how them girls are, shit shallow air heads that would do anything for a guy with status or money

DANIEL

(Stops)

but were still gonna link them?

BILLY

Damn right. I don’t know about you but I’m shallow to..Did you see T’s body?

DANIEL

(Shakes his head and continues walking)

Your something else.. you know that?

BILLY

Something special

(Both boys giggle)

The boys continue walking. A few boys from the area spud Billy and Daniel as they walk into the blocks of flats, the boys are walking up the stairs/ or in the lift.

DANIEL

So run it by me again

BILLY

Run what?

DANIEL

The plan of what we are doing today, I want details. Before you have me waiting for hours..

BILLY

Your so extra.. Were gonna go in and i’m gonna get the thing then drop it off at my cousins

DANIEL

(stares at him)

BILLY

What? anyway yeah.. then I’ll meet you outside at our spot in 30 mins. No later.

DANIEL

To go and link the girls?

BILLY

Yesss… to go and link the girls

DANIEL

3o minutes?

BILLY

If I have to tell you again..

DANIEL

(Holds his hands up)

Ok, If you say so

Billy opens the door, both boys enter. Billy drops a couple things on the floor then runs to his room. Daniel hears noise in the kitchen then enters. He sees Frank, Billy’s dad in there and they begin to talk. Frank is happy to see Daniel and offers him a seat.

frank

(happy, drinking coffe. Standing against the sink)

hey son.

DANIEL

Hi Frank, wait why you here?

FRANK

(giggles)

I should be asking you do that

DANIEL

No not to be rude, but your normally at work at this time

FRANK

Yeah I know son, its just that I had to go to the bank so gaffer let me go early

DANIEL

ohh.. Ok

FRANK

(awkward silence)

Ermm.. so how’s your mum and dad?

DANIEL

They’re good, they were asking for you the other day.

FRANK

ohh really? …

Billy pops his head through the door with a bag, and rushes out in a haste.

BILLY

Hey Dad, eh Danny I’m going now don’t forget 30 minutes. (looks at the clock then looks at DANIEL and lEAVES)

FRANK

Ehh Billy, have you had your…

The door slams and the Frank and Billy continue there conversation.

FRANK

Tea. I always tell that boy he needs to slow down

DANIEL

Tell me about it.

Frank sits down next to Daniel.

FRANK

Why can’t he be a bit more like you?

DANIEL

(Giggles)

Asking that is like asking why the hammers always loose, we’ll just never know

FRANK

(giggles)

Eh, watch your mouth

DANIEL

so go on tell me

FRANK

tell ya what?

DANIEL

(enthusiastic)

About your story, following the west ham faithful through the 80’s, the girls the things that Billy don’t stop raving about

FRANK

Slow road there son, it hasn’t all been one big party you know.. Life hasn’t always been great In fact all I see are rainy days, My mum passed away, and my dad soon followed, My wife left too, guessing for a younger model, She just epitomized what life was like for me inside, Behind bars, before my 21st, Emotions on the wall See I don’t know what’s worse being in jail, or seeing my mum in a hearse, I guess were all cursed, See I never wanted to be famous or rich, I just wanted to be content with my life by the time I was 46, 54 now, And I ‘am officially divorced now, See I don’t cry no more because that just makes things worse, plus I’ve got to put Billy first, He’s clocked on, And I don’t want him to think he’s old mans weak, So I just plough on, Yeah and growing up in east London wasn’t easy, Watching the hammers on the weekend was the only time I got to feel free, In and out of allies, and fucking this girl sally,

DANIEL

(chuckles)

Well I can see where Billy gets it from

FRANK

Ehh I never said I was an angel, Just born in new ham general, See I was a problem child from early, But nothing was early about my delivery, Popped out late, my parents wanted to get rid of me,(Laughs sighs)

daniel

(mummers)

wow, fuck me. Sorry.

frank

See I’ve seen the London fields turn from a bright luscious green, to a grey withering mess

DANIEL

(looks at the time, but is to intrigued)

I don’t follow

FRANK

(frustrated)

Let’s firstly address the dis proportioned reality of life, Joy round here is short lived, the greys are over powering

Meanwhile Billy has reached the drop off point and is awaiting Denise around the corner from the flat to drop off the package. She is 10 minutes late, and Billy is getting frustrated.

BILLY

(pacing up and down, on the phone)

Ahh it keeps going to voicemail… hello Dee, where are you? Dee.. AHH fucking hell.

We see a shot of Denise at a cafe with many missed calls from Billy, she then texts someone saying he’s there now. Billy is still outside waiting and is very anxious. Back at the house…

FRANK

(complete dispair)

basically son I’m not saying nothing good happen round here, I’d be lying, I understand my son was a blessing But then a about thousand bad things occur, See we get a sip of joy, but gallons of pain And I swear I can’t take any more shots to my brain, Anger is still pumping through my veins, I can’t visualize a brighter place, I’m stuck in middle of all these greys

DANIEL

(indulged in Franks story)

35 minutes has passed and Billy turns to leave the tight allyway, as he does a man in all black snatches the package and stabs him 3 times, Billy drops to the floor. The male in all blacks runs off. Back at the house…

DANIEL

(is on the edge of his seat and is checking his watch and the clock)

FRANK

See I’ve become something I never thought I would be, I lost my soul in the winds, And now I can’t find it in the street, I’ve lost me..(sighs)

Even these upstanding tower flats we call home can’t keep me on my feet, The thought makes me weak, My peaks are too low for me to be ever be content within the average week Laughs!

DANIEL

(looks startled and is shaking, looking at the time)

FRANK

You look frightened son I’m just painting you a picture of my reality, Stuck in this God forsaken estate where all hell breaks loose, Less options now so in terms of predicaments we don’t even get to choose, Trying to make Billy my priority,

DANIEL

Billy!

FRANK

(gestures 1 minute)

Yeah I know you need to run off but..

Billy attempst to drag himself back home, injured and in serious pain. He falls short not to far from his block.By this time Daniel is 20 minutes late.

FRANK

I want the best for you little rascals believe me, Make it big… I don’t know be a lawyer or do something on TV Be men, get married, have kids and leave the city, Realize your dreams be free Just don’t erm err Just don’t end up like me

DANIEL

(gets up, and heads for the door)

Thanks Frank but, I have to be going

FRANK

Yeah Iknow..(shouts) Take care, and look after Billy! (door slams)

By this time Daniel is running down the stairs, he reaches the bottom of the flats and tries to call Billy as he dosen’t see him at their designated spot. He goes to look around the corner as he’s phone is ringing, he hears Billy’s ringtone and runs to his body and starts to scream.

DANIEL

(emotional, shaking)

Billy! Help, help somebody help.

Sadly Billy dies. A week later you see cameo shots of Daniel walking with flowers sad. A shot of Frank at home with a bottle. (or at a class for alcohol abuse users) / A shot of Denise looking at a picture of her and Bily and she is crying / cameo of Taylor outside Shanice’s door and she embraces her. The end shot will be with DANIEL holding his bags going back to uni.

Leave a Reply

