Script Update!

Here is the updated script! The main changes have been highlighted in red. It’s quite a large piece of text so if you have read the script before just scroll to the relevant pieces of text.

A BIT ABOUT FRANK

INT. INSIDE A FRIEND’S HOUSE. AFTERNOON.

Angie Billy’s mum has been staying at a friend’s house in Essex for the past week. She is currently on the phone to her boyfriend Michael planning to explain to him what happened to her son and why she hasn’t been home. She is clearly distraught but whilst on the phone Angie is preparing to go out for the first time in a week to meet Michael. As she begins to tell the story to Michael we cut to over ten years ago when the Billy was 10.

EXT. OUTSIDE A CORNER SHOP. AFTERNOON.

In the heart of east London in the summer of 2004 Billy and Daniel, aged 9 and 10 are near their local corner shop. Just prior to this the pair had been running around for a few hours causing mischief in their local park, the lads are parched but only have a 20p between them, they walk towards a shop.

Narrator

See I’ve always loved summers I have. For me it was a time to relax… you know, a time to soak up the glorious east London sun. Well I say sun, giggles. (Almost day dreaming) But I remember this year in particular because it was the summer we almost got promoted back to the big time. See I was always there… promise!, not always present though… (Pause) We used to watch on from the terraces we did (excited) and even in the midst of all that claret and blue I always managed to see him. Okay, I lied it was once. But I did see him. Promise! Sigh. I can’t for the life of me seem to put my finger on what it is. You know. (Pause) That thing, that thing that makes us women so. so incapable of letting go. I’ve heard some call it love, but I wouldn’t go that far.’

Billy

(Looks over to Daniel)

…You know what?

Daniel

What?

BILLY

(Puts his arm around Daniel)

I’m really, really thirsty

DANIEL

(Shrugs him off)

Well you know I don’t have any money, because you always ‘borrow’ my money and never give it back

BILLY

(Stops)

Well that’s not true.

DANIEL

(Stares and looks at him, slanting his head)

BILLY

(Smirks. Then raises his hand in an exaggerated fashion to demonstrate bubbles flying away)

…Well you know, like the famous bubbles that’s gone and flown away. And stop bringing up things from the past.

DANIEL

(Laughs, and begins to walk off)

OK well, I’m going home.

BILLY

(Quickly runs up besides him, links his arms closes his eyes and starts singing)

I’m forever blowing bubbles, pretty bubbles in the air.

DANIEL

(Looks at him, as Billy’s eyes are closed)

BILLY

(Nudges him, and they both start singing)

‘They fly so high, nearly reach the sky, and then like my dreams they fade and die’

(They both stop burst out laughing pushing each other)

BILLY

(Whispers into Daniel’s ears)

I’ve got a plan.

INT. corner shop. afternoon.

Daniel sneaks into the shop behind Billy. Billy then heads over to the counter to distract the shopkeeper. While Daniel attempts to steals some snacks.

 BILLY

(Charmingly approaches the counter)

Hi Mr. sir.

Shopkeeper

(Looks at him suspiciously)

Hi Billy

BILLY

Can I have 5 boxes of fags, some whisky, rizzla, and what ever tickles your fancy

SHOPKEEPER

I beg your pardon

BILLY

(Grins in the shopkeepers face)

You heard me, and there’s no need to beg Mr. sir; just get what I asked for please. And be quick the Miss is waiting for me indoors; you know what it’s like?

SHOPKEEPER

(Crosses his arms and stares at Billy)

BILLY

No?

SHOPKEEPER

(Looking at the reflection to work out, what Daniel is doing behind the shelves)

How about you come back in ten years time, and then I’ll be able to give you everything you asked for. (Mutters under his breath) Cheeky sod.

BILLY

(Backs away from the counter towards the door, as the shop keeper looks suspiciously at Billy and the mirror)

Well how about you close your eyes and open them in 10 seconds. Danny!

SHOPKEEPER

(Shouts, then runs from behind his)

What? Come back here! Come back now! ahh

DANIEL

(Runs for the door as he drops a packet of Crips)

Sorry!

BILLY

(Holds the door for Daniel)

C’mon lets go

The boys run around the corner and get as far from the shop as possible before they stop to catch their breath.

BILLY

(Looking at the snacks)

I told you it would work

DANIEL

(Still out of breath)

Were going to get in trouble, I’m never doing this again.

BILLY

(Grins)

That’s what you said the last time, ha

DANIEL

(Snatches the big bag of sweets out of Billy’s hands and walks off)

BILLY

(Shouts, as they walk off into the sunset)

oi!

NARRATOR

‘I hope I’m not boring ya, (sigh) now Fast-forward almost decade to about this time last week, smack bang in the middle of all this mess. See I was doing me laundry at the time. You know I had the tough task of separating me coloured from me whites and me knickers from me delicates, not knowing that this mothers meetings down my old local boozer would change my world forever, …but you he was there.’

 INT. Pub. Afternoon.

Billy is with his EX girlfriend Denise and they are awaiting a private doctor in their local pub, Billy is nervous. Summer 2014.

Billy

(Tapping the table looking at his watch)

Denise

(Puts her hand on his)

What’s the matter love?

Billy

(Moves is hand)

Nothing, I

Denise

(Cuts him off)

I know, but we’ll be alright we’ve been through things like this before

Billy

(Turns his face away)

Denise

(Comes closer to Billy)

This is the big one, the one that changes our lives forever

Billy

(Pushes her hands away)

Get your head out the fucking clouds… If this goes wrong

(Shakes his head and downs his drink)

Denise

(Embarrassed and frustrated)

Keep your voice down! Just remember why you’re doing this

A dark haired, mysterious looking man with a leather jacket walks in on Billy and Denise’s conversation.

Doctor

(Reaches hand out)

You must be Billy

(Takes a seat)

Billy

(Nods)

Doctor

(Smiles)

You look like you’ve seen a ghost, don’t be startled Denise has told me all about you

Billy

(Looks at Denise)

Really now?

Denise

(Holds on to Billy’s arm)

Yeah I told him we need his help

 

Doctor

Look I’m not going to beat around the bush, it’s a dangerous job…it may take a couple of hours,

Billy

(Hands begin to shake)

Doctor

(Looks into Billy’s eyes)

Blood may be shed, and if all goes pear shaped you don’t know me and you haven’t seen me… Better yet what’s my name?

Billy

(Looks at Denise for the answer)

Denise

(Shrugs her shoulders and looks away)

Billy

(Gives her foul look and shakes his head)

Doctor

(Smiles and rubs his hands together)

And that’s how we are going to keep it! Okay

Billy get’s up to leave.

Doctor

Leaving so soon? Next rounds on me

Denise

Babe!

Billy

No, I’ve got things to sort out. …Denise take care of things and message me later Okay?

Denise

Ok.

Doctor

And erm don’t forget the package.

Denise

(Shouts)

love ya!

The pub door shuts. Denise and the doctor continue speaking. Billy goes to meet up with his best friend Daniel, as he is fresh home from university.

EXT. Near the flats. afternoon.

In the heart of East London in the summer of 2014 Daniel is waiting for Billy around the corner from the flats where Billy resides.

DANIEL

It’s my first day back and my so-called best friend can’t even meet me on time I guess nothing changes

(Shakes his head jokingly)

BILLY

I’m so sorry bro; you know I’m a businessman now I had to attend a meeting, you know what its like right?

(Gestures to sort out tie jokingly)

Daniel

(Laughs)

You? Businessman? Meetings?

You couldn’t spell business. Man

Billy

(Shocked and laughs)

Mate that was cold

Daniel

(Can’t stop laughing)

I’m sorry. Really I ‘am sorry. So what we doing today? I’m only here for a little while…

Billy

Wow you only been in here 5 bleedin’ minutes and you wanna fuck off back to Loughborough

(In a posh accent, bowing gesture)

Daniel

You know it’s not like that

Billy

(Shakes his head)

Yeah the vag must be top notch, you get educated good up there don’t you?

(Winks and nudges Daniel)

DANIEL

(Put’s head down)

Don’t be like that

BILLY

Like what? (Puts his hands to gesture he’s doing nothing wrong)

DANIEL

You know… Jealous

BILLY

(Puts his arm around Daniel and points forward in Irish accent)

Shagg off! Like my famous Irish ancestors used to say nothing good comes out of jealously my little dear boy

DANIEL

(Laughs, and pushes him off)

You’re not even Irish

BILLY

Says who? Anyway you gonna wait at mine while I go drop something to cousin?

DANIEL

(Screws his face, then angrily says)

What cousins? Every time you claim to see your cousins something bad always happens.

Two girls from the area are approaching Billy and Daniel; they begin to get excited as they realize its Billy in the distance.

Shanice

…My dress just came, I’m too excited Saturday is gonna be a shutdown (CURRENT EVENT)

TAYLOR

(Over the top excited)

I know you should see my heels and my clutch bag.

Billy and Daniels conversation continues

BILLY

Mate chill out, what’s happened to you? Those Uni girls having really been fucking with your emotions, sounds like your gonna break out into a fucking ballad mate.

DANIEL

There you go again always taking the piss. Well, just be careful. These so called cousins have got us almost killed many a time, if we were cats we would probably be on our last flipping’ life (Giggles)

SHANICE and TAYLOR are getting closer to the boys

TAYLOR

…And you know things gonna be there (Looking at Shanice waiting for a reaction smiling in her face)

SHANICE

(Blushes and embarrassed as she looks away)

Whose, Whose thing?

TAYLOR

(Excited)

Look! I swear that’s Billy?

SHANICE

(Excited fixing her hair)

Oh my gosh it is, how’s my hair?

TAYLOR

It’s fine how’s mine? Look there coming, he’s coming composure…composure.

BILLY and DANIEL eventual reach the girls

DANIEL

You better be back soon, I swear that’s T and SHANICE from my college

BILLY

(hesitantly)

Yeah hopefully! Hi ladies

TAYLOR

(Moves forward to hug Billy, and holds on too long)

Hi Billy!

SHANICE

(Looks at TAYLOR sideways)

Ok…You can let go now. Hi Billy, Daniel.

DANIEL

Hi girls

TAYLOR

(Without a care in the world)

Hey

BILLY

(Calmly)

So what you guys doing round here? I swear u live in forest gate?

TAYLOR

(Eagerly)

Were going back to Shans!

SHANICE

I moved, I live just up the road

BILLY

(Interested)

Oh really?

TAYLOR

(Flirtatious)

Yeah you should come round

SHANICE

(Gives Taylor a dirty looks, but smiles at Billy)

TAYLOR! But yeah you should come round I’ve got a free yard

BILLY

(Looks unsure, thinks about the meeting)

Yeah I’ll see if I’m not busy we might come round, but you guys take care of yourselves ok? I mean really, look after yourselves OK?

TAYLOR

(Confused)

We? And we always do… but ok? Call me?

SHANICE

(Giggles)

Billy

Erm I’ll try

DANIEL

(Screws his face)

Billy is stood turned facing the girls as they are walking away, while Daniel starts to walk off, they girls mutter as they walk off.

TAYLOR

(Excited and giggling)

Is he still looking?

SHANICE

(Gives her a dirty look)

Yeah, I still can’t believe you were acting like that

TAYLOR

Like what?

SHANICE

Desperate!

TAYLOR

You’re just mad just because thingy never wants to link you

The pair begins to argue jokingly into the distance as THE BOYS almost approach Billy’s house. Daniel is not happy.

BILLY

Ahh.. So your goanna be silent all the way home?

DANIEL

(Remains silent, and continues walking)

BILLY

What’s wrong? Is it T and Shan?

DANIEL

(remains quiet)

BILLY

Bruv you no how them girls are, they’re blinded by status and material things. They couldn’t smell a good guy like you from under their nose, you don’t want that. You deserve so much better.

DANIEL

(Stops, frustrated)

But were still gonna link them?

BILLY

Damn right. Well if all goes to plan. I don’t know about you but I’m shallow too. Mate did you see T’s body?

DANIEL

(Shakes his head and continues walking)

What about Dee?

Billy

(Stares into space, thinking back to the meeting)

What?

Daniel

Dee? Your girlfriend?

Billy

(Shrugs shoulders, goes quiet)

X girlfriend, we broke up I think.. but Yeah she’s all right

Daniel

(Shakes his head)

You’re something else. You know that?

BILLY

Yeah something pretty special mate

(Both boys giggle)

The boys continue walking. A few boys from the area spud Billy and Daniel as they walk into the blocks of flats, the boys are walking up the stairs/ or in the lift. (Boys on the block chilling making jokes. Improvised)

DANIEL

So run it by me again

BILLY

Run what?

DANIEL

The plan of what we are doing today, I want details. Before you have me waiting for hours again

BILLY

Your so extra.. Were gonna go in and I’m gonna get the thing then drop it off at my cousins

DANIEL

(Stares at him)

BILLY

What? Anyway yeah. Then I’ll meet you outside at our spot in 30 mins. No later.

DANIEL

To go and link the girls?

BILLY

(Emphasized)

Yes!… to go and link the girls

DANIEL

30 minutes?

BILLY

If I have to tell you again..

DANIEL

(Holds his hands up)

Ok, OK I hear you

Billy opens the door and both boys enter. Billy drops a couple things on the floor then runs to his room. He comes across a letter from the NHS and quickly dismisses it as he goes for the package. Daniel hears noise in the kitchen then enters. Frank is looking at a letter from the NHS and he quickly puts it a draw. He sees Frank, Billy’s dad in there and they begin to talk. Frank is happy to see Daniel and offers him a seat.

Frank

(Happy, pours coffee and puts alcohol in it facing away from Daniel, then turns Standing against the sink)

Hey son.

DANIEL

Hi Frank, wait why you here?

FRANK

(Giggles)

Ermm…

DANIEL

No not to be rude, but your normally at work at this time

FRANK

(Clicks fingers to job his memory)

Yeah I know son, its just that I had to go to erm..erm the bank so yeah gaffer let me go early.

DANIEL

ohh.. Ok

FRANK

(Awkward silence, stares into space)

Ermm.. So how are your mum and dad?

DANIEL

They’re good, they were asking for you the other day.

FRANK

ohh really? That’s…

Billy pops his head through the door with a bag, and rushes out in haste.

BILLY

Hey Dad, eh Danny I’m going now don’t forget 30 minutes. (Looks at the clock then look at DANIEL and leaves)

FRANK

Ehh Billy, have you had your…

The door slams and the Frank and Billy continue their conversation.

FRANK

Tea. I always tell that boy he needs to slow down

DANIEL

Tell me about it.

Frank sits down next to Daniel.

FRANK

Why can’t he be a bit more like you?

DANIEL

(Giggles)

Asking that is like asking why the hammers always loose, we’ll just never know

FRANK

(Giggles)

Eh, watch your mouth

DANIEL

So go on tell me

FRANK

tell ya what?

DANIEL

(Enthusiastic)

About your story, following the west ham faithful through the 80’s, the girls the things that Billy doesn’t stop raving about, he really loves you know.. Even if he’s got a strange way of showing it

FRANK

Well you could’ve fooled me. Slow your road there son, it hasn’t all been one big party you know.. Life hasn’t always been great In fact all I see are rainy days, My mum passed away, and my dad soon followed, My wife left too, guessing for a younger model, She just epitomized what life was like for me inside, Behind bars, before my 21st, Emotions on the wall See I don’t know what’s worse being in jail, or seeing my mum in a hearse, I guess were all cursed, See I never wanted to be famous or rich, I just wanted to be content with my life by the time I was 46, 54 now, And I ‘am officially divorced now, See I don’t cry no more because that just makes things worse, plus I’ve got to put Billy first, He’s clocked on, And I don’t want him to think he’s old mans weak, So I just plough on, Yeah and growing up in east London wasn’t easy, Watching the hammers on the weekend was the only time I got to feel free, In and out of allies, and fucking this girl sally,

DANIEL

(Chuckles)

Well I can see where Billy gets it from –

FRANK

Ehh I never said I was an angel, Just born in new ham general, See I was a problem child from early, But nothing was early about my delivery, Popped out late, my parents couldn’t wait to get rid of me,

(Laughs sighs)

Daniel

(Mummers)

Wow, fuck me. Sorry.

Frank

See I’ve seen the London fields turn from a bright luscious green, to a grey withering mess

DANIEL

(Looks at the time, but is to intrigued)

I don’t follow

FRANK

(Frustrated)

Let’s firstly address the dis proportioned reality of life, Joy round here is short lived, the greys are over powering

Meanwhile Billy has reached the drop off point and is awaiting Denise around the corner from the flat to drop off the package. She is 10 minutes late, and Billy is getting frustrated.

BILLY

(Pacing up and down, on the phone)

Ahh it keeps going to voicemail… hello Dee, where are you? I’ve been waiting here …Dee.. AHH fucking hell.

We see a shot of Denise at a cafe with many missed calls from Billy, she then texts someone by the name of ‘X’ saying he’s there now and begins to get teary eyed. Billy is still outside waiting and is very anxious. Back at the house…

FRANK

(Complete despair)

Basically son I’m not saying nothing good happen round here, I’d be lying, I understand my son was a blessing But then a about thousand bad things occur, See we get a sip of joy, but gallons of pain And I swear I can’t take any more shots to my brain, Anger is still pumping through my veins, I can’t visualize a brighter place, I’m stuck in middle of all these greys

DANIEL

(Indulged in Franks story)

35 minutes has passed and Billy turns to leave the tight alleyway, as he does a man in all black barges into him and knocks the package out of his. Billy looks as if he’s hurt and the man looks back at him and carries on walking. Billy peaks up the package. A man in a car pulls up and sounds the horn for Billy to enter the car. It is the Doctor. They drive off.

DANIEL

(Is on the edge of his seat and is checking his watch and the clock)

FRANK

See I’ve become something I never thought I would be, I lost my soul in the winds, And now I can’t find it in the street, I’ve lost me and I feel like I’m slipping away..(Sighs)

Even these upstanding tower flats we call home can’t keep me on my feet, The thought makes me weak, My peaks are too low for me to be ever be content within the average week Laughs!

DANIEL

(Looks startled and is shaking, looking at the time)

FRANK

You look frightened son I’m just painting you a picture of my reality, Stuck in this God forsaken estate where all hell breaks loose, Less options now so in terms of predicaments we don’t even get to choose, Trying to make Billy my priority,

DANIEL

Billy!

FRANK

(Gestures 1 minute)

Yeah I know you need to run off but..

Billy is anxious in the car on route to this location. Complete silence in the car.

FRANK

I want the best for you little rascals believe me Make it big… I don’t know be a lawyer or do something on TV Be men, get married, have kids and leave the city, Realize your dreams be free Just don’t erm err Just don’t end up like me

DANIEL

(Gets up, and heads for the door)

Thanks Frank but I have to be going

FRANK

Yeah I know (shouts) Take care, and look after Billy! (Door slams)

By this time Daniel is running down the stairs, he reaches the bottom of the flats and tries to call Billy, as he doesn’t see him at their designated spot. He continues to call Billy and it keeps ringing through to voicemail. Billy is in the car as the phone rings.

DANIEL

(Confused and frustrated. Call’s Denise)

NARRATOR

‘I’ always knew he were fighter, too brave for his own damn good! I remember this one time, when he was almost 2. True story I promise (ANXIOUS) you know Terry? My youngest brother, well he dropped him down a flight of stairs. Can you imagine he didn’t cry a single tear, not even a moan or groan. He just got up and got on with things you see.

Billy and the Doctor are in the car fast approaching the abandoned warehouse/ some sort of hospital to begin the procedure to give his father his kidney. Billy is scared stiff but slowly opens the package, which has his fathers scarf and jacket in.

Billy

(Prepares himself, as he silently begins to sing dropping a tear)

We’re forever blowing bubbles.

Doctor

(Wears gloves)

Lay back now…I hope to see you again

Billy

(Singing fades, as he is put under anesthetic/ eyes close)

Daniel get’s off the phone to Denise and runs back upstairs. He reaches Billy’s door and begins to bang. Meanwhile Frank is in the kitchen drinking. He runs to the door.

Frank

Hold on, hold on give us a sec!

Daniel

(Panting)

Open up

Frank

(Opens door)

Danny?

Barges through the door and heads for Billy’s room! He then finds a letter addressed to Frank on his bed, along with his application form.

Frank

(Enters Billy’s room)

What’s all the fuss son?

Daniel

(Scared and shaking)

Read this!

NARRATOR

‘See I’m not crazy ….I promise, so you don’t have to comfort me or tell me its going to be ok. (If I knew) and I know it’s hard to lose something you never really had, so I couldn’t. I shouldn’t cry… But that’s my… you know (Quiet and sad) But it isn’t only me that lost out, the whole of the east end does too’

Billy dose not make it unfortunately. The doctor covers his face. He calls Denise to tell her the bad news. She speechless and drops the phone and begins to cry! Frank and Daniel begin to break down in the house as they find out Billy hasn’t made it. Daniel receives a text from Dee and both Daniel and Frank begins to break down in the house, we also see Dee in a state. The next day you see Cameo shots of Daniel walking with flowers sad. Shot of Denise looking at a picture of her and Billy and she is crying, Taylor outside Shanice’s door as she embraces her. A couple weeks later Frank is in rehab home after his successful kidney transplant.

The narrator is Angie. A week before Frank’s operation Angie meets the doctor outside the graveyard. We are now currently at present day. She is still on the phone and almost at the meeting point.

EXT. NEAR A GRAVEYARD. AFTERNOON.

NARRATOR

Angie is walking and talking on the phone, fast approaching the doctor and the graveyard. He probably still hates me (Don’t say that) nah It’s true.

They both do. I choose my dreams over my responsibilities. (Eh you were brave) I was young and selfish; see my son died not knowing how much I cared. That hurts. He will never know how I finally planned to surprise him for his 21st, or how I spent almost 4 months trying to get in touch with Daniel just so I could know how my little trooper was doing. You see I truly loved that boy. Pause

(You never actually told me how he died) Pause

ANGIE

(Appears Behind him)

There’s something’s you just can’t say over the phone.

DOCTOR

(Doctor turns around)

They hug and kiss. Angie then sighs after the embrace.

ANGIE

(Rubbing her head as if she has a headache)

Danny his best friend was saying how Billy found out about Franks illness through a letter, and went behind Frank’s back to do this kidney operation with some proper dodgy doctor.

(Under her breath) The cunt.

DOCTOR

(The doctor looks guilty)

 ANGIE

Not you Hun, the doctor. Ah I dunno what to believe he was all over the place. But I thoughts things like that only happened on the tele. Silly me. But my Billy he died true, you know scarfed up in west hams Claret and blue. Giggles.

DOCTOR

(Looks frightened, looks away)

ANGIE

Baby what’s wrong with you?

DOCTOR

Nothing darling, ..I’m just imagining what you’re going through

ANGIE

I’m fine love I have you

DOCTOR

Yeah, Of course you will always have me

ANGIE

But Frank on the other now has nothing

DOCTOR

(Brings her in close)

EH that’s not your fault

 ANGIE

I know but I certainly didn’t help. I hope he he survives the whole ordeal.

The couple both pause, the doctor gets caught starring at Angie she then asks.

ANGIE

What is it?

DOCTOR

I…

ANGIE

(Looks at him for an answer)

 DOCTOR

I love you Angie, and I would never do anything to intentionally hurt you. You know that right?

ANGIE

Yes darling I do.

DOCTOR

Ok, some things are left better unsaid..

 ANGIE

(Looks confused)

Darling?

 DOCTOR

Let’s go home now baby, you should be home with me.

Angie gives in and remains quite as she nods and walks off into the distance with her lover Michael.

The End.

 

Leave a Reply

